STUC Equality Award

Equality Award logo

The objective of the STUC Equality Award is to highlight the positive difference union reps can make in the workplace. We aim to recognise an individual or group who has made a difference, and who brings energy, enthusiasm and new ideas to promoting equality and tackling discrimination.

All STUC affiliated trade union organisations are invited to make nominations. The Award is presented to a Scottish trade union rep or a group of members working together, and multiple applications from each STUC affiliated trade union organisation are welcome.

Equality Award 2023

Pharmacy student and union activist, Soh Xi Ken of the Pharmacists’ Defence Association (PDA), received the STUC Equality Award at the STUC Annual Congress in Dundee. The award recognised Xi Ken’s tireless advocacy for furthering the rights of members of the LGBT+ and Black and Minority Ethnic members of the PDA.

Xi Ken was integral to the launch of an Equality network within the PDA, with the main goal of the committee being to increase levels of diversity and inclusion within the pharmaceutical industry. Xi Ken is keen to increase knowledge and awareness of the fact that LGBT+ patients may have their own unique needs or their own specific health inequalities whilst under pharmacy care. Xi Ken has also been open about the racial discrimination he faced during his time as a pharmacy student at university.

Equality Award 2022

Scots’ folk singer and union activist, Iona Fyfe of the Musicians' Union, received the STUC Equality Award at the STUC Annual Congress in Aberdeen. The award recognised Iona’s tireless advocacy for fairness within the industry, highlighting her personal experience of exploitation and sexual harassment.

Iona Fyfe being presented the STUC Equality Award 2022 by the First Minister at STUC Congress

Speaking bravely about her experiences, Iona works hard to encourage women and men in the music industry to also stand up and call out discriminatory behaviours which are prevalent within the sector.

Commenting, Iona added “It’s a great privilege to have received the STUC Equality Award with all praise and gratitude going to my colleagues within the Musicians’ Union”

Equality Award 2020

Kate SangThe recipient of the 2020 STUC Equality Award is Kate Sang, UCU. Kate is UCU Equality Rep at Heriot Watt University and Professor of Gender and Employment Studies at Edinburgh Business School.

Kate’s tireless commitment to equity and equality has had a major impact on her own workplace, her union and other workforces. She has been particularly effective in advocating for disability awareness and inclusivity and has written prolifically with an intersectional approach to explore the experiences of disabled women.

Equality Award 2019

Khadija Mohammed with Grahame Smith and Nicola Sturgeon MSPThe recipient of the 2019 STUC Equality Award is Khadija Mohammed, EIS, who is a Lecturer in Education at the University of the West of Scotland.

The Award, which is sponsored by Skills Development Scotland, was presented by the Rt Hon Nicola Sturgeon, First Minister of Scotland and Leader of the Scottish National Party, at the STUC Congress in Dundee on Wednesday, 17 April 2019.

Equality Award 2018

Linda Ford with Grahame Smith and Nicola Sturgeon MSP

The Scottish Trades Union Congress (STUC) has announced that the recipient of the 2018 STUC Equality Award is Linda Ford, Prospect Equality Representative at The James Hutton Institute in Invergowrie, Dundee. The award was presented by the Rt Hon Nicola Sturgeon, First Minister of Scotland and Leader of the Scottish National Party, at STUC Annual Congress on Monday, 24 April 2018.